Phlebotomy training ยท Indianapolis, IN

Phlebotomy Classes in Indianapolis, IN

Phlebotomy classes in Indianapolis range from short private courses to college certificates, with another college option in Noblesville. Compare classroom time, blood draw practice, externships and published fees before choosing training for the national certification your employer may request.

College certificateIvy Tech: 18 credits; 2 semesters
Beginner short courseIndiana School of Phlebotomy: 7 weeks
Evening optionAccelerated ISP course: 4 weeks; prior healthcare education or experience required
Public adult educationWarren Township: 7 weeks; next start January 12, 2027

Phlebotomy programs with local training

Compare these local classroom options using the school's published program details, checked October 27, 2026. The check line under each school names institutional accreditation, state school authorization or the public adult education provider listing; it does not grant a personal phlebotomy credential.

6 local programs listed

SchoolProgramCredentialLengthScheduleCost
Ivy Tech Community CollegeIndianapolis, INHigher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, college statement
The temporary Enrollment Center is at Illinois Fall Creek Center while North Meridian Center is closed; confirm lab and externship locations. The college states it is "accredited by the Higher Learning Commission."
School page
Phlebotomy TechnicianCertificate (CT)18 credit hours; 2 semestersAsk school$3,211 program cost listed on Ivy Tech's Healthcare Specialist page, checked October 27, 2026; academic year not specified.
MSD of Warren Township, Adult and Continuing EducationIndianapolis, INIndiana DWD adult education provider directory: MSD of Warren Township
January orientation is January 7, 2027. The course page names the American Medical Certification Association as its testing provider. Confirm the instructional site with the adult education office.
School page
Phlebotomy Technician Certification (CPT)7 weeksTuesday-Thursday, 12:30-3:30 p.m.; starts October 27, 2026, January 12, 2027 and March 9, 2027.Ask school
Indiana School of PhlebotomyIndianapolis, INIndiana DWD Office for Career and Technical Schools: Full Authorization
PLB includes a 40-hour externship; CPT track does not. Accelerated entry requires prior healthcare education or experience. The OCTS list shows Full Authorization; this is school authorization, not course approval.
School page
7-Week Phlebotomy (PLB and CPT); Accelerated PhlebotomyCertificate7 weeks beginner; 4 weeks acceleratedOpen CPT cohort November 11-December 30, 2026, Wednesday/Friday 1:30-5:30 p.m.; accelerated December 1-29, Tuesday/Thursday 6-9 p.m.; PLB December 8 start.$900 beginner total or $750 accelerated total; both list $500 tuition plus itemized fees. School pages checked October 27, 2026; national exam is separate.
Phlebotomy Training Specialists (Intelvio, LLC)Indianapolis, INIndiana DWD Office for Career and Technical Schools: Full Authorization
Campus matches the OCTS list's Full Authorization entry. Training divides into 24 hours of instruction and 24 hours of practice; confirm the selected class dates and national exam with admissions.
School page
Phlebotomy TrainingCertificate of completion48 hours of in-class instructionIn person; morning, evening, weekend and accelerated options; page advertises November and December 2026 enrollment.$925 total for November/December 2026 enrollment. January 2027 total: $995, including $600 tuition, $100 registration, $170 materials and $125 exam; school page checked October 27, 2026.
Hardon EducationIndianapolis, INIndiana Board for Proprietary Education/CHE authorized institution
Includes an unpaid 80-hour externship. Requires a diploma or equivalent, entrance exam, background screening and health checks. Hardon states: "This institution is authorized by" the Indiana Commission for Higher Education/Indiana Board for Proprietary Education.
School page
Certificate in Phlebotomy TechnicianCertificate of Completion7 weeksNext cohort January 19, 2027; orientation January 5, 2027.$1,350 tuition, school program page checked October 27, 2026.
Ivy Tech Community College, Hamilton CountyNoblesville, INHigher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, college statement
Hamilton County is listed for this certificate. Ivy Tech publishes that it is "accredited by the Higher Learning Commission." Confirm local class availability and the assigned externship site.
School page
Phlebotomy TechnicianCertificate (CT)18 credit hours; 2 semestersAsk school$3,211 listed program cost, Healthcare Specialist page checked October 27, 2026; year of tuition rate not stated.

Indianapolis campuses first, then nearby cities. Details come from each school's website; costs and start dates change, so confirm with the school.

Phlebotomy schools near Indianapolis: training sites

Ivy Tech Community College Indianapolis, IN

Ivy Tech's Indianapolis certificate includes blood collection coursework and an externship, with credits that can count toward a Healthcare Specialist degree.

Higher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, college statement
Program
Phlebotomy Technician
Credential
Certificate (CT)
Length
18 credit hours; 2 semesters
Published cost
$3,211 program cost listed on Ivy Tech's Healthcare Specialist page, checked October 27, 2026; academic year not specified.
Address
2535 N. Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46208
Phone
(888) 489-5463
Program page

MSD of Warren Township, Adult and Continuing Education Indianapolis, IN

Warren Township lists a seven-week afternoon phlebotomy course and identifies the American Medical Certification Association for its certification exam.

Indiana DWD adult education provider directory: MSD of Warren Township
Program
Phlebotomy Technician Certification (CPT)
Length
7 weeks
Schedule
Tuesday-Thursday, 12:30-3:30 p.m.; starts October 27, 2026, January 12, 2027 and March 9, 2027.
Address
10502 East 21st Street, Indianapolis, IN 46229
Phone
(317) 532-3000
Program page

Indiana School of Phlebotomy Indianapolis, IN

Indiana School of Phlebotomy offers beginner tracks with different externship arrangements and an accelerated course for students with prior healthcare experience.

Indiana DWD Office for Career and Technical Schools: Full Authorization
Program
7-Week Phlebotomy (PLB and CPT); Accelerated Phlebotomy
Credential
Certificate
Length
7 weeks beginner; 4 weeks accelerated
Schedule
Open CPT cohort November 11-December 30, 2026, Wednesday/Friday 1:30-5:30 p.m.; accelerated December 1-29, Tuesday/Thursday 6-9 p.m.; PLB December 8 start.
Published cost
$900 beginner total or $750 accelerated total; both list $500 tuition plus itemized fees. School pages checked October 27, 2026; national exam is separate.
Address
6919 E. 10th St., Suite D-6, Indianapolis, IN 46219
Phone
(317) 759-3729
Program page

Phlebotomy Training Specialists (Intelvio, LLC) Indianapolis, IN

Phlebotomy Training Specialists divides its Indianapolis classroom course equally between instructor-led study and hands-on practice with supervised blood draws.

Indiana DWD Office for Career and Technical Schools: Full Authorization
Program
Phlebotomy Training
Credential
Certificate of completion
Length
48 hours of in-class instruction
Schedule
In person; morning, evening, weekend and accelerated options; page advertises November and December 2026 enrollment.
Published cost
$925 total for November/December 2026 enrollment. January 2027 total: $995, including $600 tuition, $100 registration, $170 materials and $125 exam; school page checked October 27, 2026.
Address
9795 Crosspoint Blvd, Suite 190, Indianapolis, IN 46256
Phone
(701) 404-9434
Program page

Hardon Education Indianapolis, IN

Hardon's phlebotomy certificate combines classroom and lab work with an unpaid externship where students practice alongside medical professionals.

Indiana Board for Proprietary Education/CHE authorized institution
Program
Certificate in Phlebotomy Technician
Credential
Certificate of Completion
Length
7 weeks
Schedule
Next cohort January 19, 2027; orientation January 5, 2027.
Published cost
$1,350 tuition, school program page checked October 27, 2026.
Address
2424 E 55th St, Indianapolis, IN 46220
Phone
(317) 388-5375
Program page

Ivy Tech Community College, Hamilton County Noblesville, IN

The Hamilton County certificate teaches patient preparation, sample labeling and blood collection through an eighteen-credit program with an externship course.

Higher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, college statement
Program
Phlebotomy Technician
Credential
Certificate (CT)
Length
18 credit hours; 2 semesters
Published cost
$3,211 listed program cost, Healthcare Specialist page checked October 27, 2026; year of tuition rate not stated.
Address
300 N. 17th Street, Noblesville, IN 46060
Phone
(317) 921-4300
Program page

Plan your phlebotomy training and exam

  1. 1

    Choose the right starting level

    ISP's accelerated course requires healthcare experience or education; its beginner course does not. Compare prerequisites before choosing a shorter class.

  2. 2

    Check the institution's listing

    Match a private campus to the OCTS authorized institutions list. For public options, check Ivy Tech's accreditation statement or Warren Township's DWD adult education entry.

  3. 3

    Arrange blood draw practice

    Ask where you will perform live draws and who documents them. ISP separates its PLB externship track from its CPT track, and Hardon includes an unpaid 80-hour externship.

  4. 4

    Confirm your national exam path

    ISP names the NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician exam and requires the minimum procedures for eligibility. Warren Township names AMCA; ask which exam, fee and practical requirements apply to your class.

  5. 5

    Compare actual employer requirements

    BLS says employers may prefer professional certification. Check job requirements for the credential, patient experience and shifts you want before committing to a course.

Phlebotomist wages in the Indianapolis metro

In May 2025, BLS estimated 830 phlebotomist jobs in the Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood, IN metro area. The median wage was $19.98 per hour, or $41,550 annually, for Phlebotomists, SOC 31-9097. See the BLS OEWS area table. These are estimates for the occupation across employers, rather than a starting salary for a course graduate.

BLS describes phlebotomy work in hospitals, medical laboratories, blood donor centers and physicians' offices. Hospital and laboratory schedules can include nights, weekends and holidays. When you compare openings, ask about shift hours, the ages of patients you will serve, specimen handling duties and the exact certification an employer accepts.

Published phlebotomy costs and payment help

Ivy Tech lists a $3,211 certificate cost. Indiana School of Phlebotomy publishes $500 beginner tuition plus fees; its comparison gives a $900 total. Hardon lists $1,350 tuition. These school prices were checked October 27, 2026. Ask what the exam, health checks and externship add.

Ivy Tech lists phlebotomy as eligible for Next Level Jobs for qualifying students, with screening costs still payable. Ask financial aid staff about FAFSA and Pell eligibility for your certificate. Contact WorkOne Indy about WIOA funding before enrollment. Veterans can check exact program eligibility through the VA. Request any employer tuition benefit's coverage and repayment terms. ISP offers payment plans and says its courses do not qualify for federal financial aid.

Read the full guide to paying for training

What to ask a phlebotomy school

  • Which national certification exam does this exact course prepare me for?
  • How many successful live draws will I complete and document?
  • Is an externship included, and who arranges the placement?
  • Where will labs meet, and what is the next available start?
  • What is the full price, including the exam and health checks?
  • Does a funding decision need to be approved before I register?
  • What happens if an externship is delayed or I miss class?

How to check a school

Common questions

Does Indiana require a separate phlebotomy license?

The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's professions list does not name a separate phlebotomist license. Indiana School of Phlebotomy says professional certification is optional for its phlebotomy graduates. A school certificate and a national exam credential are different. Check the exact employer's requirements, and treat the institutional check line here as a school-level verification, rather than personal certification.

Which phlebotomy certification can I pursue?

Indiana School of Phlebotomy names the National Healthcareer Association's Certified Phlebotomy Technician credential. Warren Township names the American Medical Certification Association as its testing provider. Ask which exam your class prepares for, what procedures must be documented, and whether the fee is included. BLS notes that certification requirements vary by organization and can include clinical experience and an exam.

Can I take a four-week phlebotomy course without experience?

ISP's four-week accelerated course is intended for people with prior healthcare education or clinical experience. The school requires applicants to be at least 18 and have a diploma or equivalent. Its seven-week beginner option offers another starting point. Compare your background with the written entry rules, and ask how the class will document any required live procedures.

Do all Indianapolis phlebotomy courses include an externship?

No. ISP says its PLB track includes a 40-hour clinical externship, while its CPT track does not. Hardon publishes an unpaid 80-hour externship, and Ivy Tech lists an externship course in its certificate. Ask about placement timing, travel, supervision and screening costs. Make sure any required clinical hours fit around your job before you register.

Are there afternoon or evening phlebotomy classes?

Warren Township lists Tuesday-Thursday afternoons, 12:30-3:30 p.m., for its seven-week course. ISP posts afternoon and evening groups, with different availability by track. Hands-on practice and externships have their own schedules. Request a calendar covering every lab and clinical day, even when a course offers some flexibility in classroom study.

Compare practice time and exam preparation

Contact the local programs that fit your schedule and ask for a written plan covering tuition, live draws, clinical placement and certification.

Compare programs
Compare programs