Electrician training ยท Indianapolis, IN

Electrician Schools in Indianapolis, IN

Electrician schools in Indianapolis offer apprenticeships, evening foundation classes and college training, with more college options in nearby Noblesville. Compare construction wiring with industrial electrical programs, and check how classroom study connects to supervised work and later local licensing.

Electrical apprenticeshipETI: 720 classroom hours plus 8,000 work hours
Noblesville college routeIvy Tech Electrical Specialist CT: 2 semesters
License authorityLocal licensing; no Indiana state electrical license
Electrician median wage$31.31/hour, metro BLS May 2025

Electrical classes and apprenticeships to compare

Start with the kind of work you want: construction wiring, electronic systems or industrial equipment; each row names the published track. The check line under each school identifies its accreditation statement, government provider directory or apprenticeship sponsor listing, rather than an individual electrician license.

10 local programs listed

SchoolProgramCredentialLengthScheduleCost
Electrical Training Institute of IndianapolisIndianapolis, INU.S. Department of Labor RACC sponsor listing, Indianapolis Electrical JATC
Applications accepted year-round; classes typically start five times annually. IBEW Local 481 and Central Indiana NECA cover tuition. DOL's sponsor list names Indianapolis Electrical JATC, matching ETI's phone and city. Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Electrician ProgramFive terms, approximately 5 years; minimum 720 classroom hours and 8,000 on-the-job hoursPaid on-the-job training with classroom instructionSchool's tuition page, checked October 27, 2026: all tuition covered for accepted apprentices; semester book and learning management system fees remain; $50 application fee
IEC IndyIndianapolis, INU.S. Department of Labor RACC sponsor listing, Central Indiana IEC
Accelerated study shortens classroom time, not the 8,000-hour work requirement. Apprentices must work for an electrical contractor. Published tuition FAQ is marked for 2022; request current rates. Sponsor states its four-year program is "recognized by the US. Department of Labor's Office of Apprenticeship & Training". Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
4 year Traditional Apprenticeship; 2 year Accelerated ApprenticeshipCompletion Certificates from the U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship and IEC NationalTraditional: 4 years; accelerated classroom route: 2 years; both require 576 classroom hours and 8,000 on-the-job hoursTraditional: one evening weekly, 4 hours; accelerated: two evenings weekly, 4 hours eachIEC contact FAQ, 2022 class year: traditional $2,425/year member or $3,225/year nonmember; accelerated $2,550/module member or $3,550/module nonmember (2 modules/year, textbooks included); $700 registration applied to tuition; confirm current rates
IEC IndyIndianapolis, INIndiana DWD Workforce Ready Grant listing, IEC Indy Electrical Training
IEC explicitly describes this course as not an apprenticeship. DWD lists Electrical Training at IEC Indy but describes 20 weeks, while IEC's page says 40; obtain the current calendar. School says graduates receive 2,000 hours of work-training credit; confirm any licensing credit with the city. Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Full-Time Electrical Training Program40 weeks, per IEC's apprenticeship-programs pageTuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, 7 a.m.-3:30 p.m., per program pageAsk school
Lincoln College of TechnologyIndianapolis, INACCSC institutional accreditation, school's published statement
Covers residential electrical work, telecommunications, alarms and low-voltage systems. Catalog addendum lists November 24, 2026 as the next start. Accreditation page lists Indianapolis among campuses that "are accredited by ACCSC". Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Electrical and Electronic Systems TechnologyDiplomaApproximately 52 weeks; 1,200 instructional hours; 50.0 semester creditsHybrid; Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-12:15 p.m., 1-5:15 p.m. or 6-10:15 p.m., per 2026 catalog addendumLincoln fee sheet, enrollments on or after October 15, 2026: $31,160 tuition; $35,598 estimated total including books, uniforms, fees and tools; subject to change
Lincoln College of TechnologyIndianapolis, INACCSC institutional accreditation, school's published statement
Current Indianapolis catalog lists this degree separately from the diploma. Catalog addendum lists November 24, 2026 as the next start. Accreditation page lists Indianapolis among campuses that "are accredited by ACCSC". Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Electrical and Electronic Systems Technology Service ManagementAssociate of Applied Science (AAS)Approximately 77 weeks, including holidays and scheduled breaks; 1,425 instructional hours; 65 semester creditsHybrid; Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-12:15 p.m., 1-5:15 p.m. or 6-10:15 p.m., per 2026 catalog addendumLincoln fee sheet, enrollments on or after October 15, 2026: $34,835 tuition; $39,468 estimated total including books, uniforms, fees and tools; subject to change
Ivy Tech Community CollegeIndianapolis, INHigher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, college-published statement
Manufacturing-focused electrical training, including motors, controls, wiring and circuits. The longer certificate's detail text also says 2-3 semesters; ask for your course plan. Admissions office address shown. College states it "is accredited" by the Higher Learning Commission. Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Industrial Electrical; Industrial Electrical TechnologyCertificate (CT); Technical Certificate (TC)CT: 21 credits, 2 semesters; TC: 34 credits, 3 semesters in program summaryIn-person courses; hybrid course opportunities availableFall 2025-Summer 2027 tuition page: Indiana residents pay $178.38/credit below 12 credits or $2,577.11/semester for 12 or more; $18/credit textbook fee for eligible students; other fees extra
Hoosier Trade SchoolIndianapolis, INIndiana DWD OCTS authorized institution, Temporary Authorization
DWD lists this course for Workforce Ready Grant funding and lists the school with Temporary Authorization. School states: "This institution is regulated by: Indiana Department of Workforce Development Office for Career and Technical Schools". Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Electrical Hands-On Foundation2 monthsEvenings; hands-on classes with at-home assignmentsSchool homepage, checked October 27, 2026: $500 for tool pack; tuition not published
Wayne Township Adult Education / Area 31Indianapolis, INIndiana DWD adult education directory, public Wayne Township provider
Applications include TABE testing and an interview. Spring field experience is April 26-May 14; certification week is May 24, 25 and 27. DWD's adult education directory lists Wayne Township as a provider. Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Electrical FoundationsNCCER Electrical Level 1; OSHA-10 General Construction; AED, First Aid, and CPR; WIN Essential Soft Skills15 weeks; 140 training hoursMonday, Tuesday and Thursday, 6-9:30 p.m.; February 1, 2027 first class; January 25, 26 and 28 boot campSpring 2027 school fact sheet: full scholarship for selected students; self-pay price not stated
Ivy Tech Community CollegeNoblesville, INHigher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, Ivy Tech's statement
The construction program lists Hamilton County for both electrical certificates; its Indianapolis campus table does not list these awards. College states it "is accredited" by the Higher Learning Commission. Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Electrical SpecialistCertificate (CT); Technical Certificate (TC)CT: 19 credits, 2 semesters; TC: 32 credits, 3 semestersIn-person coursesFall 2025-Summer 2027 tuition page: Indiana residents pay $178.38/credit below 12 credits or $2,577.11/semester for 12 or more; $18/credit textbook fee for eligible students; other fees extra
Ivy Tech Community CollegeNoblesville, INHigher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, Ivy Tech disclosure
Hamilton County appears in both industrial electrical award location lists. This is separate from the campus's construction Electrical Specialist track. Published TC timing also includes 2-3 semesters in detail text. College states it "is accredited" by the Higher Learning Commission. Checked October 27, 2026.
School page
Industrial Electrical; Industrial Electrical TechnologyCertificate (CT); Technical Certificate (TC)CT: 21 credits, 2 semesters; TC: 34 credits, 3 semesters in program summaryIn-person courses; hybrid course opportunities availableFall 2025-Summer 2027 tuition page: Indiana residents pay $178.38/credit below 12 credits or $2,577.11/semester for 12 or more; $18/credit textbook fee for eligible students; other fees extra

Indianapolis campuses first, then nearby cities. Details come from each school's website; costs and start dates change, so confirm with the school.

Electrician schools near Indianapolis: campus contacts

Electrical Training Institute of Indianapolis Indianapolis, IN

ETI combines paid electrical work with classroom instruction through a training organization jointly managed by IBEW Local 481 and Central Indiana NECA.

U.S. Department of Labor RACC sponsor listing, Indianapolis Electrical JATC
Program
Electrician Program
Length
Five terms, approximately 5 years; minimum 720 classroom hours and 8,000 on-the-job hours
Schedule
Paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction
Published cost
School's tuition page, checked October 27, 2026: all tuition covered for accepted apprentices; semester book and learning management system fees remain; $50 application fee
Address
1751 South Lawndale Ave, Indianapolis, IN
Phone
(317) 270-5282
Program page

IEC Indy Indianapolis, IN

IEC Indy's apprenticeship pairs evening instruction in electrical theory and code with documented hours working for an electrical contractor.

U.S. Department of Labor RACC sponsor listing, Central Indiana IEC
Program
4 year Traditional Apprenticeship; 2 year Accelerated Apprenticeship
Credential
Completion Certificates from the U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship and IEC National
Length
Traditional: 4 years; accelerated classroom route: 2 years; both require 576 classroom hours and 8,000 on-the-job hours
Schedule
Traditional: one evening weekly, 4 hours; accelerated: two evenings weekly, 4 hours each
Published cost
IEC contact FAQ, 2022 class year: traditional $2,425/year member or $3,225/year nonmember; accelerated $2,550/module member or $3,550/module nonmember (2 modules/year, textbooks included); $700 registration applied to tuition; confirm current rates
Address
8861 Boehning Lane, Indianapolis, IN 46219
Phone
(317) 562-1102
Program page

IEC Indy Indianapolis, IN

IEC's daytime course gives beginners supervised installation projects using several wiring methods before they seek further experience with an employer.

Indiana DWD Workforce Ready Grant listing, IEC Indy Electrical Training
Program
Full-Time Electrical Training Program
Length
40 weeks, per IEC's apprenticeship-programs page
Schedule
Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, 7 a.m.-3:30 p.m., per program page
Address
8861 Boehning Lane, Indianapolis, IN 46219
Phone
(317) 562-1102
Program page

Lincoln College of Technology Indianapolis, IN

Lincoln's electrical diploma covers wiring and electronic systems, with hands-on campus instruction and some coursework completed online in Indianapolis.

ACCSC institutional accreditation, school's published statement
Program
Electrical and Electronic Systems Technology
Credential
Diploma
Length
Approximately 52 weeks; 1,200 instructional hours; 50.0 semester credits
Schedule
Hybrid; Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-12:15 p.m., 1-5:15 p.m. or 6-10:15 p.m., per 2026 catalog addendum
Published cost
Lincoln fee sheet, enrollments on or after October 15, 2026: $31,160 tuition; $35,598 estimated total including books, uniforms, fees and tools; subject to change
Address
7225 Winton Drive, Building 128, Indianapolis, IN 46268
Phone
(317) 632-5553
Program page

Lincoln College of Technology Indianapolis, IN

Lincoln's electrical associate degree includes wiring and electronic systems training, with additional general education courses in communication, mathematics and critical thinking.

ACCSC institutional accreditation, school's published statement
Program
Electrical and Electronic Systems Technology Service Management
Credential
Associate of Applied Science (AAS)
Length
Approximately 77 weeks, including holidays and scheduled breaks; 1,425 instructional hours; 65 semester credits
Schedule
Hybrid; Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-12:15 p.m., 1-5:15 p.m. or 6-10:15 p.m., per 2026 catalog addendum
Published cost
Lincoln fee sheet, enrollments on or after October 15, 2026: $34,835 tuition; $39,468 estimated total including books, uniforms, fees and tools; subject to change
Address
7225 Winton Drive, Building 128, Indianapolis, IN 46268
Phone
(317) 632-5553
Program page

Ivy Tech Community College Indianapolis, IN

Indianapolis industrial electrical students study motor controls, circuits and manufacturing systems in a track aimed at electrical and maintenance technician roles.

Higher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, college-published statement
Program
Industrial Electrical; Industrial Electrical Technology
Credential
Certificate (CT); Technical Certificate (TC)
Length
CT: 21 credits, 2 semesters; TC: 34 credits, 3 semesters in program summary
Schedule
In-person courses; hybrid course opportunities available
Published cost
Fall 2025-Summer 2027 tuition page: Indiana residents pay $178.38/credit below 12 credits or $2,577.11/semester for 12 or more; $18/credit textbook fee for eligible students; other fees extra
Address
50 W. Fall Creek Parkway N. Dr., Indianapolis, IN 46208
Phone
(888) 489-5463
Program page

Hoosier Trade School Indianapolis, IN

Hoosier's evening foundation course teaches installation, troubleshooting and repair for residential and light commercial electrical systems in a shop setting.

Indiana DWD OCTS authorized institution, Temporary Authorization
Program
Electrical Hands-On Foundation
Length
2 months
Schedule
Evenings; hands-on classes with at-home assignments
Published cost
School homepage, checked October 27, 2026: $500 for tool pack; tuition not published
Address
8357 Bash St #200, Indianapolis, IN 46250
Phone
(317) 505-1784
Program page

Wayne Township Adult Education / Area 31 Indianapolis, IN

Wayne Township's Electrical Foundations students practice wiring outlets, switches and lights, then complete field experience during the spring training term.

Indiana DWD adult education directory, public Wayne Township provider
Program
Electrical Foundations
Credential
NCCER Electrical Level 1; OSHA-10 General Construction; AED, First Aid, and CPR; WIN Essential Soft Skills
Length
15 weeks; 140 training hours
Schedule
Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, 6-9:30 p.m.; February 1, 2027 first class; January 25, 26 and 28 boot camp
Published cost
Spring 2027 school fact sheet: full scholarship for selected students; self-pay price not stated
Address
1200 North Girls School Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46214
Phone
(317) 988-7975
Program page

Ivy Tech Community College Noblesville, IN

The Noblesville Electrical Specialist certificates combine construction topics and electrical work, with a short certificate that can build toward further college study.

Higher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, Ivy Tech's statement
Program
Electrical Specialist
Credential
Certificate (CT); Technical Certificate (TC)
Length
CT: 19 credits, 2 semesters; TC: 32 credits, 3 semesters
Schedule
In-person courses
Published cost
Fall 2025-Summer 2027 tuition page: Indiana residents pay $178.38/credit below 12 credits or $2,577.11/semester for 12 or more; $18/credit textbook fee for eligible students; other fees extra
Address
300 N. 17th Street, Noblesville, IN 46060
Phone
(888) 489-5463
Program page

Ivy Tech Community College Noblesville, IN

Hamilton County offers industrial electrical certificates covering automation controls and industrial wiring for students interested in manufacturing equipment and electrical service.

Higher Learning Commission institutional accreditation, Ivy Tech disclosure
Program
Industrial Electrical; Industrial Electrical Technology
Credential
Certificate (CT); Technical Certificate (TC)
Length
CT: 21 credits, 2 semesters; TC: 34 credits, 3 semesters in program summary
Schedule
In-person courses; hybrid course opportunities available
Published cost
Fall 2025-Summer 2027 tuition page: Indiana residents pay $178.38/credit below 12 credits or $2,577.11/semester for 12 or more; $18/credit textbook fee for eligible students; other fees extra
Address
300 N. 17th Street, Noblesville, IN 46060
Phone
(888) 489-5463
Program page

Build a route from class to electrical work

  1. 1

    Pick the electrical work setting

    Ivy Tech's construction Electrical Specialist is offered in Noblesville. Its industrial electrical awards cover manufacturing equipment and controls in both Indianapolis and Hamilton County.

  2. 2

    Check each admission checklist

    ETI requires applicants to be at least 17, provide proof of citizenship, hold a valid driver's license and document a year of algebra with a C or better. Its process includes transcripts, a Personal Experience Form, an aptitude test and selection for interview.

  3. 3

    Separate class and work hours

    IEC Indy's apprenticeship requires both 576 classroom hours and 8,000 on-the-job hours. Taking its accelerated classroom route does not remove the work requirement; its full-time foundation program is separately described as not an apprenticeship.

  4. 4

    Keep your employment records

    The Indianapolis electrical application asks for six years of documented experience. The board may credit up to two years for qualifying related college work or a completed apprenticeship, so keep employer letters and completion records.

  5. 5

    Apply for local licensing

    Indiana has no state electrical license, according to the city's 2026 packet. Indianapolis contractor licensing includes board review, an ICC examination with a 75% passing score, orientation and required business coverage; other municipalities set their own rules.

Electrician jobs and pay around Indianapolis

BLS counted 5,390 electricians (SOC 47-2111) in the Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood, IN metro area in its May 2025 OEWS table. The occupation's median wage was $31.31 per hour and $65,130 annually. These figures describe the metro occupation across employers and experience levels, rather than starting pay for a new apprentice.

The BLS definitions distinguish employment from vacancies and median pay from average pay. Half of workers earn below the median and half above it. Use these numbers to frame questions about an offer: hourly rate, benefits, required travel, overtime and paid classroom time. Industrial maintenance or low-voltage positions may fall under different occupation codes, so compare the actual job duties too.

Electrical training costs and assistance

At Ivy Tech, Fall 2025-Summer 2027 resident tuition is $178.38 per credit for fewer than 12 credits, or $2,577.11 per semester for 12 or more. Eligible students pay a separate $18-per-credit textbook fee. Lincoln's October 15, 2026 fee sheet lists $31,160 tuition for its electrical diploma. ETI covers accepted apprentices' tuition through IBEW and NECA support, while students pay semester book and learning system fees.

For eligible college study, FAFSA-based assistance can include Pell Grants. Ivy Tech's electrical certificate pages describe conditional Next Level Jobs funding. Wayne Township selects students for full scholarships. Ask WorkOne Indy to review WIOA eligibility and the exact course before you commit. Apprentices should ask employers about tuition reimbursement and tools. Eligible veterans can also review GI Bill apprenticeship benefits, subject to approval of their training arrangement.

Read the full guide to paying for training

What to ask an electrical program

  • Is this construction wiring, industrial maintenance or electronic systems training?
  • Is the program a registered apprenticeship or classroom preparation?
  • Who arranges the required paid work, and when can it begin?
  • What are the current start date and weekly lab hours?
  • Which costs remain after scholarships or employer payments?
  • How are my supervised work hours recorded?
  • What credit, if any, will Indianapolis accept toward its license experience requirement?

How to check a school

Common questions

Can electrician school make me licensed immediately?

No. The Indianapolis electrical packet requires documented experience and board review for contractor licensing. School or apprenticeship completion may receive some experience credit, at the board's discretion. Unlicensed people may perform electrical work under a licensed contractor's supervision. Before choosing a course, ask how its training records support the work and license route you plan to follow.

How does an apprenticeship differ from a short electrical course?

IEC Indy pairs its apprenticeship classes with 8,000 documented hours working for an electrical contractor. Hoosier's two-month course focuses on foundation skills in evening shop classes. These are different commitments. Ask whether you must already have an employer, who supervises workplace training and which completion document you receive. A short course does not replace the apprenticeship's required work hours.

Where can I study electrical work at Ivy Tech locally?

Ivy Tech's Building Construction Technology location table lists the Electrical Specialist certificates at Hamilton County in Noblesville. Its Industrial Technology page lists industrial electrical certificates in both Hamilton County and Indianapolis. Choose the construction or manufacturing focus that fits your intended work, then confirm the lab location and the courses available in your first term.

Are there evening electrician classes in Indianapolis?

Wayne Township's Spring 2027 Electrical Foundations meets Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 6 to 9:30 p.m. IEC's traditional apprenticeship has one four-hour evening class weekly; the accelerated classroom option meets twice weekly. Check the full calendar before arranging work or child care, including boot camp, field experience, testing and any employer work schedule.

What do I need to apply to the IBEW apprenticeship?

The local IBEW/NECA program is operated by ETI. Its application page lists a minimum age of 17, a valid driver's license, proof of citizenship and one year of algebra with a C or better. You submit official transcripts, pay a $50 application fee and complete the required screening stages. Applications are accepted year-round, but selection depends on the program's review process.

Sources (37)

We check these pages when we update this guide. If something has changed, tell us.

Find an electrical route that fits

Request current admission dates, work requirements and total charges from the electrical programs that match your goals.

Compare programs
Compare programs